The European Union is a group of 27 member states, with the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union in Brussels. There are three main types of citizenship in the EU:

1) Member state citizenship: you are a citizen of one of the member states.

2) Citizenship through membership of the European Union: you have either acquired this as part of your citizenship or were born to two citizens who were both members at that time. 3) Citizenship through membership in another country: you have been granted this as part of your citizenship, for example if you were born to two parents who were both British citizens.

The UK is the country that has a very easy process of granting citizenship. It took the UK government only two years to grant citizenship to more than 1 million people in 2016.

The EU countries that are most difficult to get citizenship in are France, Italy and Germany.

Knowledgewap Changed status to publish April 1, 2022